The Furano Saxophone Quartet was born in 2010 for share a musical journey made of everyday life and mutual listening, where meeting becomes an enrichment for everyone and a way to know and over come one's limits together. The components, trained at the Conservatory “U. Giordano”of Foggia with the Leonardo Sbaffi and Daniele Berdini, are winners of important national and international competitions, and boast important collaborations with prominent figures in the international music scene such as Marco Angius, Tito Ceccherini, Francesco Tamiati, Roberto Miele, Michele Gasbarro and Ivan Solano. The quartet has performed in prestigious concert halls such as Teatro delle Muse in Ancona, Palazzo Corsini in Rome, Teatro Pergolesi di Jesi, Pontifical Institute of Sacred Music in Rome, Italy Pavilion EXPO 2015 in Milan, Basilica of San Michele Arcangelo (heritage Unesco) of Monte Sant'Angelo and has been the protagonist of numerous festivals such as Assaggi di Musica, Apuliae art festival, Musica nelle Corti di Capitanata, Amici della Musica di Lucera. The Furano Saxophone Quartet performed at the Santa Maria della Pace church in Rome for the Roma Festival Barocco; the group claimed two master-classes-concert lesson on new composition techniques for saxophone quartet at the Conservatory of Strasbourg (composition class of M o Daniel D’adamo), and at the Conservatory of Metz (composition class of M o Filippo Zapponi).

The group's repertoire moves on three fundamental lines: classical literature, basic for the creation of a common aesthetic; the contemporary repertoire, which represents the focus of the quartet's work, especially with the commission of new works to young composers; and finally the creation by the same components of the quartet of unpublished pieces or elaborations that represent a creative experience where to experiment and search new expressive solutions. The members of the Furano Saxophone Quartet are also organizers and promoters of "Rumore Bianco" Contemporary Music Festival which takes place in the city of Foggia and which in 2020 reaches its third edition. In the same festival, "My Happy Days in Hell", composed by the Spanish clarinetist and composer Ivàn Solano, was performed for the firts time. The piece is dedicated to the Furano Saxophone Quartet and in November 2019 it was replicated at the Protestant church of St. Aurelia in Strasbourg.



J. Cage: Four5

A. Desenclos: Quatour

F. Donatoni: Rasch

P. Glass: Saxophone Quartet

M. Guerra: Chinètosi

G. F. Haendel: Royal Fireworks (trascr. di A. Napolitano)

J.T. Maldonado: MASIH

A. Napolitano: I suoni che abitano il mattino (per voce femminile e quartetto di sax)

A. Napolitano: Day Dreaming (elaborazione da RadioHead)

A. Napolitano: Toccata 2.0 (elaborazione da Monteverdi)

M. Nyman: Songs for Tony 

H. Pousseur: Vue Sur Les Jardins Interdits

G. Piernè: Introduction et variations sur une ronde populaire

S. Sciarrino: Pagine

S. Sciarrino: Canzoniere da Scarlatti

S. Sciarrino La terribile e spaventosa storia del principe di Venosa e della bella Maria (per voce femminile, quartetto di sax e percussioni)

I. Solano: My happy days in hell (composition dedicated and commissioned by Furano saxophone quartet)

I. Xenakis: XAS